The 5th Canadian Obesity Summit was another success – thank you to all who attended! Each biennial conference begins and ends with awards acknowledging the great research being done in Canada by both established and emerging professionals. Congratulations to the 2017 award recipients:

CON-RCO Distinguished Lecturer Award
Dr. Ian Janssen, Queen’s University

TOPS New Investigator Research Award
Dr. Mary Forhan, University of Alberta

CON-SNP Rising Star Award
Laetitia Guillemette, University of Manitoba

CON-SNP 2017 Pedometer Challenge
Sarah Purcell, University of Alberta

CON-SNP Champion Award
CON-SNP Laval University Chapter

CON-SNP Faculty Supervisor Award
Dr. Shauna Burke, University of Western Ontario

Oral Presentation Award Recipients 

Undergraduate Level
Jillian Vallis, Memorial University of Newfoundland

Masters Level
Sukhleen Deol, York University

PhD Level
Alexa Ferdinands, University of Alberta

Poster Presentation Award Recipients

Undergraduate Level
Julia Cerilli and Christina Weglewski, Laurentian University (co-presenters)

Masters Level
Brittany V. Rioux, University of New Brunswick

PhD Level
Teja Klancic, University of Calgary

Pecha Kucha Presentation Award Recipients
Jennifer McConnell, University of Victoria

Pecha Kucha Presentation Honorable Mention
Susan Pinkney, BC Children’s Hospital Research Institute

COS 2017 Student Travel Awards
Laetitia Guillemette, University of Manitoba
Luzia Jaeger Hintze, University of Ottawa
Renita Lam, University of Toronto
Mathilde Lavigne, University of Laval
Taniya Nagpal, University of Western Ontario
Kim Chau, University of Toronto
Maryam Kebbe, University of Alberta
Brittany Rioux, University of New Brunswick

COS 2017 Health Care Professional Travel Awards
Anna S. Angelinas, Cypress Health Region
Anick Michaud
Cherylene Pinaroc, Patient Care Health Consultants
Jackie Fraser, Medcan
Krista Leck Merner, Partners for Healthier Weight
Laura Reardon
Emilie Avione, Medcan
Megha Poddar
Sandy Van, University of Toronto