Today’s post comes from Laura Vergeer. Laura is a PhD Candidate in the Department of Nutritional Sciences at the University of Toronto. She is also the current Outgoing Chair of the OC-SNP National Executive.

The OC-SNP National Executive is pleased to announce the winners of the OC-SNP awards for 2019/20! Unfortunately, due to COVID-19 and the cancellation of the Canadian Obesity Student Meeting 2020, several of the conference-related awards were not able to be offered this year. Nonetheless, we are excited to present the Rising Star Award and the OC-SNP Champion Award!

OC-SNP Rising Star: Dr. Taniya Nagpal

Taniya was a member of the OC-SNP National Executive for three years, including as Chair in 2018/19. She also chaired the OC-SNP chapter at Western University, and currently serves as Co-Chair of the Reproductive Years Science Committee at Obesity Canada. Taniya is a Mitacs Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of Ottawa. Her research has made novel contributions to obesity prevention and management. Congratulations, Taniya!

OC-SNP Champion Award: Université Laval

The OC-SNP chapter at Université Laval hosted a very successful Pedometer Challenge in March 2020. Their hard work and enthusiasm in leading the Pedometer Challenge this past year resulted in a total of 3,984,865 steps being taken throughout the week-long event. Congratulations to the OC-SNP team at Université Laval!

For a complete list of 2018/19 OC-SNP award winners, please click here.