6th Canadian Student Obesity Meeting Abstract Winners

The 6th Canadian Student Obesity Meeting (COSM) was a big hit at Western University in London, Ontario last week. The biennial conference – run by Obesity Canada’s Student and New Professional initiative (OC-SNP) and a local organizing committee – attracted more than 100 delegates this year.

The award winners for poster and oral presentations (bold names are COSM presenters) were:

Undergraduate Poster
Examining Shape and Weight Concerns Among Adolescents in Tertiary-Care Based Obesity and Eating Disorder Programs. Christie Mclaren, Annick Buchholz, Nicole Hammond, Gary S. Goldfield, Stasia Hadjiyannakis, Mark L. Norris, Wendy Spettigue and Nicole Obeid

Master’s Poster
Individuals with obesity have a lower blood pressure than normal weight individuals when using certain antihypertensive medications. Jash Parikh, Arshdeep Randhawa, Heather Edgell and Jennifer Kuk

PhD Poster
Postprandial GLP-1 response to a high-fat meal is blunted in obese, insulin resistant adolescents with postprandial dyslipidemia. Victoria Higgins, Man Khun Chan and Khosrow Adeli

Undergraduate Oral
The Impact of Type 2 Diabetes and Obesity on Mental Health in a Publicly-Funded Medical Weight Management Centre. Tessa Voth and Diana Bedoya

Master’s Oral
The Comparison of Metabolic Characteristics Between Women with and Without Android Obesity from a General Newfoundland Population. Matthew Nelder, Hongwei Zhang and Guang Sun

PhD Oral (tie)
No differences in the predicted body fat after violating traditional bioelectrical impedance assumptions. Arshdeep Randhawa, Michael Fung, Adam Fogel and Jennifer Kuk

PhD Oral (tie)
Feasibility of a 6-month resistance training program on cognition & brain health in overweight older adults at-risk for diabetes: A pilot study. Joyla Furlano

Abstract award photo, top, from left to right: Amanda Raffoul (OC-SNP chair), Taniya Nagpal (Western Organizing Committee Chair), Melissa Fenandez (OC-SNP chair), Jash Parikh, Victoria Higgins, Tessa Voth, Matthew Nelder, Joyla Furlano, Arshdeep Randhawa, Kristen Reilly (Western Organizing Committee Chair). Not shown: Christie Mclaren

Research Blitz Winner
Megan McGee

COSM Travel Award Winners

Left to right: Tessa Voth, M Carolina Archundia-Herrera, Arshdeep Randhawa, Isabella Romano, Kerri Delaney, Kelsey Ellis and Yilina Liubaoerjijin. Not pictured: Priyanka Chopra

2018-11-09T12:51:35+00:00 June 27th, 2018|Categories: OC Events, SNP|Tags: , , , |